Attention ce site n'est visible qu'en mode paysage.

This summer, Armorial is offering free shipping

Your search

Techniques

Techniques

The roots of our Heritage are built on our unique artisanal savoir-faire and here you can learn more on these fine techniques.

Choose a technique

The roots of our Heritage are built on our unique artisanal savoir-faire and here you can learn more on these fine techniques.

Choose a technique

Die-Stamping & Engraving

Die-Stamping & Engraving

Discover

Die-Stamping & Engraving

We take pride in our expertise in the great historic printing methods and techniques that demand skills now increasingly rare. Die-stamping dates from around 1450. Steel or copper plates are engraved by hand then squeezed by counterforce to produce a fine, raised impression. Each coloured ink involved in the printing requires its own plate so it’s a slow, demanding, process that produces gloriously subtle and detailed results.


Embossing & Debossing

Embossing & Debossing

Discover

Embossing and debossing

Embossing produces an elegant and detailed raised image on either paper or card. This can then either be left pristine, untouched by ink – blind embossed – or be the basis for a printing process adding colour and detail. Embossing is achieved by pressing the paper or card onto an engraved die. Debossing is the opposite – pressing paper or card onto an engraved die to achieve an image or letters sunk into the material.

Laser Cutting

Laser Cutting

Discover

Laser cuting

This high-precision modern method offers many possibilities, an infinite range of possible patterns, design, decoration and detail. Combine state-of-the-art laser technology with traditional engraving to achieve the perfect marriage.

IMG_0015.jpg
Letterpress

Letterpress

Discover

Letterpress

Letterpress is one of the earliest printing methods. Like die-stamping it dates from the mid-15th century. As the name suggests, raised inked letters or images on printing blocks are pressed against the paper. Nowadays many people like the printing to be visibly indented, an effect best achieved on soft papers, especially those made from cotton.



Lithography

Lithography

Discover

Lithography

Most modern print is created using litho, including the vast majority of brochures, magazines and books. It is also known as flat printing because it does not indent the paper. A thin aluminium plate is treated so the text or image attracts the ink while the non-treated areas repel it. The results are clear clean and attractive.
It can also be used in combination with other techniques, for instance to add borders to bespoke stationery

Thermography

Thermography

Discover

Thermography

A practical and affordable process, thermography delivers the look of engraving without the cost and complexity of creating plates. Used in conjunction with lithography, a fine powdered resin is spread on the drying ink. The print then passes through infrared heaters to produce a raised glossy effect mimicking the look of engraving though perhaps not its subtlety.

Plate Sinking

Plate Sinking

Discover

Plate Sinking

Whether the aim is to beautify, emphasise or simply add interest, plate sinking – making a recessed area on a card or invitation – is economical and effective. You are putting the message in a frame and raising its game.

Duplexing

Duplexing

Discover

Duplexing

Bonding same-colour cards or paper together provides extra thickness and firmness. It also means that recessed or indented printing will make no impression on the back, leaving it perfectly smooth. Or we can sandwich different colours to give the sort of effect you see here.

Gilding

Gilding

Discover

Gilding

It’s no mystery: gilding beautifies. It’s the finishing touch, the final compliment. On invitations, business cards or handsome leather notebooks, whether silver or gold, it’s often they way to make a lovely thing even better.

Foil Blocking

Foil Blocking

Discover

Foil Blocking

Silver, gold, matt, gloss, holographic, fluorescent, pearlescent, wood effect – so many possibilities. Foil blocking means passing a foil pigment between a heated die and the paper or card and applying pressure. Used by itself or combined with other printing techniques, the effect can be stunning.

Attention ce site n'est visible qu'en mode paysage.

Cet été, Armorial vous offre les frais de livraison

Ma recherche

Les techniques

Les techniques

Le savoir-faire artisanal est la force de notre héritage et nous vous en dévoilons ci-dessous les différentes techniques.

Choisissez une technique

Le savoir-faire artisanal est la force de notre héritage et nous vous en dévoilons ci-dessous les différentes techniques.

Choisissez une technique

Timbrage et Gravure

Timbrage et Gravure

En savoir plus

Timbrage et Gravure

Armorial est fière de son expertise en des procédés d’impression ancestraux devenus de plus en plus rares. L’origine de la gravure remonte à 1450. Une plaque d’acier ou de cuivre est gravée à la main avec le motif désiré. Elle est ensuite encrée puis l’on pose sur la plaque le papier qui sous l’effet de la pression d’une lourde machine se charge de la couleur de la gravure pour donner un fini absolument incomparable.


Gaufrage / Timbrage À Sec

Gaufrage / Timbrage À Sec

En savoir plus

Gaufrage / Timbrage à sec

Le gaufrage permet d’offrir des impressions avec relief. Il nécessite deux moules qui s’emboitent l’un dans l’autre entre lesquels on place la feuille de papier sur laquelle on exerce une pression afin d’obtenir la troisième dimension. Le gaufrage peut être combiné avec un large éventail de procédés destinés à accentuer les effets du relief.

Découpe au laser

Découpe au laser

En savoir plus

Découpe au laser

Cette méthode moderne de haute précision offre de nombreuses possibilités, un éventail infini d’applications variées. La découpe laser est un procédé sûr et sans contact avec la matière, fonctionnant par brûlure sans modifier la couleur ou la texture du papier comme du carton. Il est le partenaire idéal des techniques d’impression traditionnelles.



Typographie

Typographie

En savoir plus

Typographie

La typographie est l’une des plus anciennes méthodes d’impression datant comme la gravure du milieu du 15ème siècle. On utilise la typographie avec du papier à la texture douce comme les papiers cotons qui donnent de la profondeur aux impressions.



Lithographie

Lithographie

En savoir plus

Lithographie

La pierre lithographique est traitée de telle sorte que le texte et les images absorbent l’encre alors que les zones laissées en réserve la repoussent et absorbent l’eau. Le résultat donne un dessin clair et séduisant. La lithographie fréquemment utilisée dans l’imprimerie moderne (brochures, magazines, livres) révèle ses véritables atouts lorsqu’elle est associée à d’autres techniques : liserés, monogramme et armoirie.

La Thermographie

La Thermographie

En savoir plus

La Thermographie

La thermographie est un procédé d’impression pratique et peu onéreux. Elle permet d’enrichir les procédés habituels de la lithographie. Tandis que la feuille de papier est placée sur la pierre lithographique, une fine couche de résine est répandue sur les parties à imprimer. La dernière étape consiste à fixer à chaud la poudre qui donne tout son relief à l’encre et ainsi produire de raffines effets de texture.

Cuvette

Procédé peu couteux, la technique de la cuvette consiste à graver en creux certaines parties d’une carte ou papier et permet évidemment, selon le cas, de séparer ou d’encadrer, et d’offrir de beaux contrastes.

Contre-collage

Contre-collage

En savoir plus

Contre-collage

Le contre-collage est l’art d’assembler des feuilles de papier pour créer un article de papeterie d’une épaisseur exceptionnelle. Plusieurs couches d’un même matériau créent des feuilles au fort grammage et à l’aspect lisse même si elles sont combinées avec de la gravure.


Dorure sur Tranche

Dorure sur Tranche

En savoir plus

Dorure sur Tranche

Tous nos produits, de la simple feuille de papeterie, aux cartes de visite ou aux faire part peuvent encore être embellis par une dorure sur tranche, d’un grand raffinement. Les tranches sont généralement ornées à la feuille d’or ou d’argent, mais aussi de couleurs métalliques et mates appréciées de notre clientèle.

Dorure À Chaud

Dorure À Chaud

En savoir plus

Dorure À Chaud

Pour ce procédé on utilise des pigments dorés ou argentés que l’on saupoudre sur un film de polyester introduit dans une presse oú une matrice de l’image a été placée. On ajoute alors le papier et sous l’action conjuguée de la chaleur et de la pression les pigments métalliques se déposent sur la feuille, pour créer un dessin d’une grande précision.